Clinton Township was established by the commissioners of Seneca County in December of 1824.  It was named for DeWitt Clinton the governor of New York.

There are 15 townships located in Seneca County and 1362 township in State of Ohio.  There are six other Clinton townships in Ohio.  They are located in Franklin, Fulton, Knox, Shelby, Vinton and Wayne counties.

It is a rural township located in the center of Seneca County.  Clinton township has 4,109 residents, 1,591 households, and covers approximately 31.7 square miles.  There are also 34.214 miles of roadway located in Clinton Township.

The township is governed by a three-member board of trustees, who are elected in November of odd-numbered years to a four-year term beginning on the following January 1. Two are elected in the year after the presidential election and one is elected in the year before it.

There is also an elected township fiscal officer, who serves a four-year term beginning on April 1 of the year after the election, which is held in November of the year before the presidential election. Vacancies in the fiscal officership or on the board of trustees are filled by the remaining trustees.